Decision

The Mastery of Procrastination”

According to Napoleon Hill’s book, Think & Grow Rich this is the 7th Step towards Riches.

It’s fitting that the chapter I’m reading today would align with the current Supreme Court Case Hollingsworth v. Perry that is being decided.  The decisions of this case will either confirm my believe that life is getting better for everyone or put it on pause…  Slowly but surely, we are coming together to decide that no human should be treated less than human.  Today marriage equality, tomorrow..?  

One of the arguments from the Justices was, why should this be heard now??  Well, if its not now, then it’s later.. and later just means procrastination.

 

Decision

Photo by michaela-w @ gmx

 

Whether its in regards to your personal financial freedom or in respects to the fundamental right for two consenting adults to marry the person they love—-life is a series of decisions that need to be made. 

As a gay adult, I can only hope people will decide that love is love, but for now, the only decisions I can control, are those for my financial future.

 

Today is my last day at my “9-5” job, and if everything works out, my last day in any type of “9-5.” To make that a reality, I need to heed the advice from this chapter in Think & Grow Rich.

 

The first suggestion in this chapter is to “Tell the world what you intend to do, but first show it.”

Basically, Hill is advising you hold your tongue, especially when associated with your business goals.  He goes on to mention that :

Analysis of several hundred people who had accumulated fortunes well beyond the million dollar mark disclosed the fact that every one of them had the habit of reaching decisions promptly and of changing these decisions slowly, if and when they were changed.  People who fail to accumulate money, without exception, have the habit of reaching decisions, if at all, very slowly and of changing these decisions quickly and often.

 

Gulp.

I’m notoriously indecisive and am prone to deciding to do things on a whim.  This decision attitude is going to be something I’ll have to really keep after. I knew that reading self-help books and living out the advice literally, was going to be a challenge.. Some of the habits I already posses. However, this is one I’ll have to work hard on.

So, just a bit of background info… I’ve probably convinced myself what type of profession I should pursue, and have changed it over 20 times in my life.  In college, I changed my mind so much that after all the random classes and changes of major, I ended up graduating with a “General Studies” degree.  Basically, I knew a little about a lot of things.  Would I go back and change those decisions?  No.  They made me who I am today. I’m empowered by the knowledge I acquired.  But, is this a habit I should hold onto?? Absolutely not.

 

Here’s to building up good habits…and  in the meantime, Loving Life.

-TT

 

Leave a Reply

